

Media Contact: Michael Rey 214-224-2237 mrey@ntta.org

NTTA CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD KENNETH BARR STEPS DOWN TO ASSUME EDUCATION ROLE

Denton County Representative John Mahalik Voted Chairman of the Board

PLANO, TEXAS, May 15, 2019 – Kenneth Barr stepped down as chairman of the board of the North Texas Tollway Authority (NTTA) following today's board meeting. Barr was recently elected to the Tarrant County College (TCC) Board of Trustees. NTTA bylaws prevent board members from also serving as elected officials.

Barr served on the NTTA Board of Directors as a Tarrant County representative for more than a decade and served as chairman since September 2011.

"I have two public service passions in my life - transportation and education. I am very proud of the 11 years I served NTTA, but it is now time for me to focus on my new role with Tarrant County College," Barr said.

During Barr's tenure, NTTA became the nation's recognized leader in all-electronic/cashless tolling. The TollTag has seen tremendous growth, with nearly six million now in use. TollTags can be used, not only on NTTA roads, but also at DFW Airport, Love Field and for all toll lanes in Texas, Oklahoma and Kansas.

NTTA delivered many significant projects during Barr's service, including:

- Chisholm Trail Parkway
- 360 Tollway
- President George Bush Turnpike Eastern Extension
- President George Bush Turnpike Western Extension
- Lewisville Lake Toll Bridge

In addition, NTTA is in the process of re-investing nearly \$2 billion into capital projects, including the construction of additional lanes on the Dallas North Tollway, the President George Bush Turnpike and the Sam Rayburn Tollway, in order to alleviate congestion and provide additional mobility to North Texans.

During his time as Chairman, Barr and the board appointed two Executive Directors - Gerry Carrigan and, in March of this year, James Hofmann.

Following Barr's resignation, Denton County Representative John Mahalik was elected Board Chairman to fulfill the remainder of Barr's term, which ends in August.

For more information, visit NTTA.org.

About NTTA

<u>The North Texas Tollway Authority</u>, a political subdivision of the state of Texas, is authorized to acquire, construct, maintain, repair and operate turnpike projects across the North Texas region. The <u>nine-member board</u> is

comprised of Chairman John Mahalik; Vice Chairman Bill Moore; and Directors Lynn Gravley, Mojy Haddad, Pete Kamp, Marcus Knight, George "Tex" Quesada and Jane Willard.

NTTA is composed of member counties Dallas, Denton, Collin and Tarrant. It also serves Ellis and Johnson counties. NTTA owns and operates the Dallas North Tollway, President George Bush Turnpike, Sam Rayburn Tollway, Addison Airport Toll Tunnel, Lewisville Lake Toll Bridge, Mountain Creek Lake Bridge, Chisholm Trail Parkway, and 360 Tollway. It raises capital for construction projects through the issuance of turnpike revenue bonds. NTTA toll projects are not a part of the state highway system and receive no direct tax funding. Tolls are collected to repay debt and to operate and maintain the roadways.

###