

NTTA BOARD APPROVES 70 MPH SPEED LIMIT ON THE PRESIDENT GEORGE BUSH TURNPIKE EASTERN EXTENSION Speed Limit Brings Eastern Extension in Line with PGBT Corridor

PLANO, Texas – May 16, 2012 – At its monthly meeting Wednesday, the North Texas Tollway Authority Board of Directors approved a 70 mph speed limit on the President George Bush Turnpike Eastern Extension from State Highway 78 in Garland to Interstate 30 in Rowlett.

The Eastern Extension opened in December 2011. The speed limit was set based on the results of a speed study that measures the 85th percentile speed — the most characteristic representation of traffic speeds that is safe and reasonable.

"State law automatically defaults the speed limit to 70 mph when a new roadway like the Eastern Extension opens," said Interim Director of Maintenance Eric Hemphill. "This decision brings that portion of the roadway in line with the rest of the PGBT corridor, which is also 70 mph."

The speed limit will go into effect by the end of May when the signs are scheduled to be posted.

Safety is the primary concern when the NTTA sets speed limits on its roadways. Drivers should always follow the posted speed limits and continue to use caution when driving the speed limit.

The NTTA works continuously to enhance safety on its roadways by:

- Employing the latest road construction technology to provide the highest quality construction and maintenance on NTTA toll roads
- Providing technology solutions for a safer driving experience
- Monitoring, responding and communicating with drivers and first responders to increase roadway safety
- Providing free roadside assistance to tollway users

For more information on NTTA roadways, visit <u>www.NTTA.org</u>.

About the NTTA

The North Texas Tollway Authority, a political subdivision of the state of Texas, is authorized to acquire, construct, maintain, repair and operate turnpike projects in the north Texas region. The <u>nine-member</u> <u>governing board</u> is comprised of Chairman Kenneth Barr; Vice Chairman Bill Moore; and Directors David Denison, William D. Elliot, Matrice Ellis-Kirk, Michael Nowels, George "Tex" Quesada, Victor Vandergriff and Jane Willard.

The NTTA serves Collin, Dallas, Denton and Tarrant counties and owns and operates the Dallas North Tollway, President George Bush Turnpike, Sam Rayburn Tollway, Addison Airport Toll Tunnel, Lewisville

Lake Toll Bridge and the Mountain Creek Lake Bridge. The NTTA is able to raise capital for construction projects through the issuance of turnpike revenue bonds. NTTA toll projects are not a part of the state highway system and receive no direct tax funding. Tolls are collected to repay debt and to operate and maintain the roadways.